Chief Keef: My Love/Hate Relationship With Chicago


…………………………sigh.

I have a love-hate relationship with my city.

While I was in undergrad at the University of Virginia, people would often tell me “Joshua, you rep Chicago too hard!”. For me it was hard not to.

When I first got to VA, I felt extremely isolated and out of place. I ain’t the most hood dude out, but I def was one of the hoodest there. I didn’t dress like them, walk like them; I talked city with a mix of southern drawl in my speech like many black Chicagoans do. They talked either too proper, or too country. I felt disconnected.

I was from the south side of the Chi, while the vast majority of my peers were from the suburbs, country towns, and counties of Virginia. I even brought bad habits from my environment (a lot of my friends were from a particular gang, so they wore red and cocked their hat left. I was never part of a gang, but being around them, I picked up the habit. Had to remind myself a few times that people weren’t in gangs in college lol #FAIL.)

But one thing that helped me retain a sense of identity was letting everyone know that I was from Chicago. It was more than a Bulls shirt, or a Blackhawks hat, or people giving me the hoop nickname “Chi-Town” or “D-Rose” (it was a great conversation starter since for at least the first two years of college, I was the only black male in the entire university hailing from the inner-city of the Chi). Pride in where I come from helped me ease the transition into college life as an out-of-state student. As cliché as it sounds you can’t be comfortable where you’re going unless you know where you’re from.

I’m proud to be from Chicago. I grew up on the south and west sides of the city, and I appreciate all the things I went through growing up, good and bad. Chicago will always be in my heart.

But as I started to pack up my apartment in C-Ville after graduation, the loathing side of my love-hate relationship with Chicago started to rear its ugly head.

For any student fresh out of college, going back home has its downsides: living with your parents, feeling “grown” but not actually being grown, chores (ugh), etc. Leaving C-Ville also meant leaving behind a huge part of my life: my college days. All the friends I was leaving behind, the “study” sessions in (Club) Clemons Library, the parties, chillin wit my Phrat brothers, late night snack runs, the good times, the memories.

Leaving UVA meant leaving many simple things I enjoyed; the slower life of VA as opposed to the hustle-and-bustle of the city; the ability to go to the Aquatic Fitness Center whenever I wanted to play basketball (instead of going to play somewhere that might deny you if you look too “urban”, or on an outside court, in neighborhoods where on the wrong day I might have to box); the safety of the community of scholars and not the danger of being outside my crib at the wrong time.

But not only that, going back home meant I had to go back to the most segregated city on the face of the planet. Back to being around the same people with the same mentalities and values as when I first left for college. It meant I had to go back to the south side.

Ask anyone from Chicago how the city is, and you probably will get one of two kinds of answers. Someone who was born and raised on the north side, their answer is likely to sound like “I love it here. I couldn’t imagine myself living anywhere else!” If you ask someone from the south side, their reply might sound like “Man……..I just wanna get the f*** outta here!”. Because for the most part, the North side is what you see when you Google “Chicago”. The South side is full of many people who struggle with the Chicagoan-existential dilemma: Do I stay to help/persevere, cherish the positives of my city? Or do it I run from the negativity?

( NOTE: No, I didn’t forget about the East or the West. Just wanted to best convey the dichotomy within the city. And if you are from the north side reading this, I’m not attacking or criticizing my north-sider brothers and sisters. I’m probing a much much broader issue, using location to illustrate my point. There are some BAD neighborhoods on the North side, just like there are GREAT neighborhoods on the South side. And there is violence over the entire city, not just the south/west side. If I accidentally offended anyone’s personal experience, I definitely apologize. It is not my intention, so I hope you understand the ideological work I’m trying to do in this article. Please bare with me).

Neighborhoods, particularly on the south side (and several on the east and west side) of Chicago have erupted in youth violence. With death tolls increasing yearly, more kids have died in Chicago than US troops in Afghanistan. More and more Chicago Public School students have passed from shootings during the course of a school year (and we won’t even get into how the numbers skyrocket as soon as summer hits. In the Chi, some of us welcome the cold).

Too long have news headlines brought me to tears (like the first time my friend showed me the video of Derrion Albert getting beat to death), just like Lupe Fiasco when he saw old footage of himself in his neighborhood with now fallen friends, or our beloved humble superstar and icon Derrick Rose at the unveiling of his new shoe.

This epidemic of killing has left myself and many like me with a deep sense of hopelessness. It’s very difficult to cope with, and many of us just want to get as far away from the violence as we can. The constant RIP Facebook statuses and daily local news reminders are heartbreaking. So now that I’m back home, after I see my family and few friends, to be honest, I just wanna get out of here. Being here can be draining on my spirit (at its low points).

Enter Chief Keef.

The first song I heard from Chief Keef was this song called “Everyday“. I was in VA and one of my friends sent me the song on Facebook. At first I thought it was a joke. The lyrics were………..nevermind, and the 20 dreaded-up drillas bobbin’ up and down seemed like a parody. I never knew the word “nigga” could be rhymed with itself so many times.

But the ratch in me thought the beat knocked pretty good (Chop is a beast). It was the type of music you would never listen to for deep rumination, but you could turn it on while getting ready for a party. It was a “get in my zone” track. Trap music has its place, and I, like all people, enjoy my share of guilty pleasures. Plus I’m at that intermediate age where music can be wack message-wise, but I can still dance to it (I admit that I still fight the urge to turn-up when “Love Sosa” comes on. My willpower lasts all the way until he says “God y’all some broke boys”).

Needless to say, I didn’t really think much about him or the impact of his music, until I came to back home.

I was at the kitchen table when my niece walks by listening to “3 Hunna”. I shook my head. While it may seem hypocritical for me to listen to some of his lyrical garbage over electrifying beats but not liking it when she does, I am a whole lot better equipped to distinguish it from music with real substance. My age and musical taste allows me to know way more alternatives.

Kids her age listen to the radio and watch music videos for the vast majority of their new music intake, unlike young adults like me in the blog-surfing generation. For the most part, only artists with pop relevance like Chief Keef are what they regularly listen to (if you need an example of how I know this, I once asked her who Erykah Badu was and she didn’t remember. But she can recite Nicki Minaj songs verbatim, because that is what the radio plays). A few days later, I heard my little cousin bumpin “Monster”, lip-syncing “Never trust a bitch, shit you gotta watch em“. Skip to later in the week, when another one of my teenage cousins scrolled through my iPod and asked  “Who all these people? You got some Chief Keef?”.

This was the day I would have never expected to see. The face of the City of Wind; the hottest rapper or artist in Chi-town wouldn’t be Yeezy, or Common, or Twista, or Do or Die, or Lupe Fiasco, or Naledge, or Mikkey Halsted, or Kids These Days, or Chance The Rapper, or Rockie Fresh, or Sir Michael Rocks, or Shawnna, or Add-2, etc.

It’s Chief Keef.

This is who Chicago picked to show the world our talent?

But I wasn’t dreaming. One “I Dont Like” G.O.O.D Music Remix, and a multi-million dollar publishing deal (with his own Beats By Dre headphone line and movie deal) later, and I was in shock (BANG BANG!).

Fast forward the tape.

Lupe Fiasco was quoted in an interview, saying “Chief Keef scares me. Not him specifically, but the culture that he represents.”

Chief Keef felt that Lupe was dissing him, and tweeted, “lupe fiasco a hoe ass nigga And wen I see him I’ma smack him like the lil bitch he is #300“.

My first reaction to this was again, ambivalence. It was a mixture of sadness and disappointment. A smh and a sigh. The smh was at the ignorance of the response; that this was the way he felt he had to handle his perceived defamation. I cringed at the thought of youth in Chicago and in the rest of the country who are supportive of Chief Keef, who might revel in this type retaliation and view it as justified. I winced at the thought of suburban kid entertained by this “real niggatry”, while their parents utter their justifiable, but nuance-lacking disapproval in a dismissive “…..Niggas (Niggers)”.

The sigh was in the fact that though his reply seems irrational, how can you not expect him to react this way? I agree with 50 Cent when he said “Chief Keef is only going to respond to Lupe as ‘why is he talkin about me?’ ” You can only expect that method of retaliation from a kid that young, from that environment, who (whether it is true or not) feels he has nothing in common with a person like Lupe.

A kid from his background doesn’t understand what Lupe meant; that it was not a direct attack on him, but an indirect attack on the system that would give a 17-yr old kid who only raps about guns, his distrust for new niggas, fuckin’ b*tches, and smokin dope millions of dollars. How can you even blame Chief Keef for his lyrical content? That is all he knows.

Fast forward the tape a little more.

South side rapper Lil Jojo was shot and killed on Sept 3. His death is believed to be linked to his beef with one of Chief Keef’s affiliates, Lil’ Reese, although to my knowledge, no real evidence of this has been found. Jojo had previously posted YouTube videos saying that he was BDK (for people not from Chicago, this is a diss towards the Chicago gang Black Disciple Nation. Replacing the “N” for “nation” and adding a “K” for “killer” to the moniker of any gang is a huge gesture of disrespect to that gang. It’s saying you will kill anyone who is in that gang) and that he was going to kill Lil’ Reese and Chief Keef.

Chief Keef responded to JoJo’s death with a resounding “LMAO”. He tried to deny the situation by saying his account was hacked, though I contend that “his” denial tweets were clearly written by his publicists

Twitter exploded. Personally, I was both saddened and infuriated at his response. Irate because even if someone is your “enemy”, to laugh at their death is the ultimate disrespect, to them and their loved ones. But also sad, because Jojo’s death was senseless, solved nothing, and Chief Keef probably doesn’t or wouldn’t see anything wrong with laughing at someone else’s death. Many people called for a boycott of him and for Interscope to drop him from the label, which for both right (all saints have a past, all sinners have a future) and wrong reasons (the label has too much money invested to pull out) won’t happen.

Fast forward some more.

Instagram shut down Chief Keef’s personal account because he posted a photo of him receiving a sexual act by a girl.

He said that his IG account was hacked as well……………..

(sigh)

Chief Keef is the embodiment of my ambivalence towards the home I love.

He is a success story of a kid, from one of the worst neighborhoods in the Chi, who got a multi-million dollar record deal, all from making YouTube rap videos at his grandma’s crib. He is proof that even from the bottom, you can still ascend from misfortune. No matter what it looks like, we all love a rags-to-riches story.

Despite some of the negative message in his lyrics, he likely has provided a spark for some inner city youth to get off the streets and into the studio. No matter what he does that we view as negative, he is serving as a blessing to someone. Now it seems like every kid in Chicago wants to be a rapper, and whether they are good or not might not matter. At least they are off the streets and are being productive.

And he is bringing long overdue attention to a city with probably the most untapped musical potential in the country. This attention can help artists like Add-2, Chance The Rapper, or Kids These Days to one day get signed to major deals.

He’s from my city. Our city.

But on the other hand, he sadly has become the new poster boy for every single thing I loathe about the media, record labels, and pop culture. Record labels are exploiting not only his image, but the mass of violence in our city. As soon as he is irrelevant, they will cash their checks and yell “Kobe!” as they toss him in the trash. And no other rappers will say he’s wack, has limited talent, or speak out against him because they either might be affiliated with the same label or don’t want to be tagged as a “hater” (side-eye).

He is a rope in the tug-o-war sociological debate in this country when it comes to the plight of minorities: should we implore each citizen to take personal responsibility for their own life (even in the absence of a level playing-field, which is a whole other possibility vs. probability debate), or should we try to fix a system that gives some less benefits and more hardships (a system in which if minorities ask for help, some will say they are lazy, asking for handouts, or have a “sense of entitlement”)?

He is the symbol of the pimping of the negative aspects within the black community without prognosticating why they are there. He is the portrait of white America’s infatuation with narrow aspects of the black community, most specifically, its implosion; a picture that is commodified, if and when it becomes profitable, but is met with apathy and disdain when it is the controversial topic of social discourse that investigates its causes and effects. He is the quintessential example of the notion that vice is a “black value”, even though the vast majority of people who own record labels, buy music, and attend concerts are not, in fact, not black.

He is a new chapter in the declension narrative of hip hop; a reminder that there might not be any more College Dropout’s, Carter II’s, Illmatic’s, Miseducation’s, Food & Liquor’s, Below the Heavens’, etc. Artists like him are the progenitors of this new wave of (in the words of Naledge) “Nigga nigga……nigga nigga……add a hook” trap rap that saturates the airways. They are the benefactors of mainstream radio that keeps non-socially conscious music in perpetual rotation, but wouldn’t play “Murder For Excellence” (not even in Chicago!). They are the product of a segregated city that seems to care far less about some parts while others are flourishing; swept under the rug to keep the Chi as Google-appropriate as possible.

Artists like him have an image that makes people in city pray for some kind of hope. We love Derrick Rose and everything that he represents, but he isn’t enough to change the culture here. And while it is very unfair to throw the weight of Chicago on Yeezy’s shoulders, we would love for him to be more salient in these issues (Where Are You Yeezy?)

And most of all, Keef is just a kid.

He’s a kid from my city who seems to value all the wrong things in life, because life seems to not place any value on people like him. He’s like so many of us in this world who don’t even realize how much we are truly blessed, because we are so affected by the times in which we were cursed……..

My heart breaks knowing that instead of reading this article as me criticizing a system that made Chief Keef and using his story as an example, too many people will see this  as me attacking him. Some will hypocritically applaud me for it, like a man who casts the first stone; like somehow he is the biggest problem and cause of the rest of the problems in the city, which is the epitome of ignorance to think. Others will retaliate against me, a person they think is a weak-minded, young, “educated” snob attacking a kid, and a city for not knowing any better, which I’m not.

I just have a love-hate relationship with Chicago.

Bittersweet……..you’re gonna be the death of me. I don’t want you, but I need you. I love you and hate you at the very same time” – Kanye West & John Mayer

RIP to all the lives taken by violence across the nation, and here in Chicago.

God Bless the Youth. Save Our Students.

We Out Here,

Josh A (follow me @iRockJoshA)

Categories: JoshArticlesTags: , , ,

105 comments

  1. Kudos to you for such a well written article/post. You make me fall in love with the thought of being a blogger all over again. Chief Keefe is not only part of the problem he doest realize that he could be part of the solution if he uses some part of his platform to let our Chicago children know that their is more to life than what he raps about and portray. I am a proud North sider who doesn’t live in wrigleyville who has had the plethora of RIP’s of close friends and family lost to violence. Although I wouldn’t or couldn’t live on any other side of town, my hood is still a hood. It sadens me that our youth emulate these young rappers but is it not a repetive history cycle that we must break? Who’s really to blame for what’s happening to our beloved city? We may never have the true answer but we have to teach our own that we demand more. Like the saying goes if my brother would have been a lawyer, so would I. Its sad and heartbreaking and I hope it changes before I grow into that Chicago love hate relationship that you speak of.

  2. I had a great chance at pursuing a career in radio straight out of college, but for some reason my love for true hip hop/music tugged away at my soul to re-evaluate that decision. Brother you broke down my exact feelings at that time throughout this article. Being from Chicago, it’s sad that the true talents can’t rise to the acclaim of Chief Keef. I understand he’s virtually just a kid and still learning to become a man, but “at the same damn time” today’s youth are learning that lesson under him, much misguided. And I agree that it is bigger than the Chi, it seems as though the record industry recruits bottom talent to increase their bottom line.

  3. Reblogged this on ashley carolina bowe and commented:
    We Out Here.

  4. That was very well written and as a former South Spider myself, I share those same sentiments. Good work brother

  5. I meant South Sider… OAN I will definitely be sharing this blog with my followers.

  6. Man Josh let me just say that I really enjoyed your article here. Mainly because you have just captured in words all the things that I have been thinking myself. all of these events, all of these feelings and emotions that come with graduating. You sir are truly skilled with words. I also started writing a few things with a little blog on blogger inspired by these events but not nearly as articulate as you have done here if you would like to check it out here: http://enigmaticvibes.blogspot.com . I really appreciate you taking the time to write this, my heart weeps for my city and we need more voices like yours to be heard so a difference can be made. like you said we out here, and we are awake!

    Peace Brother

  7. Bonjour from across the sea! This is just what I was thinking of, and you wrote it nicely. Thx

  8. A strong sentiment and perspective that, for me, was crippled by your lack of proofreading and editing.

    • Thank you for your comment. Hope you took something out if reading though

      • I certainly did take something out of it, and I appreciate your feelings. I only pointed this out because I think with a little more effort and thoughtfulness, you could be a great writer instead of simply a good one. While I understand that you wrote this for a specific audience, you’ll be able to reach a wider array of people if your words and structure are as strong as your ideas.

      • I mean “great instead of good” that was very subjective lol. I don’t know how to respond to that. As far as audience, I tried to write it for everyone. But I see what your saying. I’ve been editing it a little bit throughout the last few days to trim it down, lessen the wordiness of it, typos. Things like that.

      • As with all art, the “good versus great” argument will always fall, in some ways, at the feet of subjectivity. But if you do, as you say, write for all audiences, I tend to think that it’s important to remember that there exists an unwritten contract between you, the writer, and your reader. No one is obligated to take the time to read the written word, and if they do invest said time, as a writer we should always strive to uphold our end of the bargain by providing a well-crafted product. Which is not saying that you didn’t endeavor to, or in some ways accomplish this task. One of the main reasons I thought it was so important to mention this is because as a young, black man expressing himself through writing, there will always be a segment of your audience who will not hold you to the same expectations they have for other writers. They’ll expect mistakes, carelessness, usage errors and the like, and I don’t want you to give them what they expect. Regardless of whether these expectations are fair, and whether you even care to speak to these people, you will be able to reach and change some of them by proving a solid grasp of all the facets of your craft. It’s clear you’re a young man who wants to affect change, and who is thinking about the world he is a part of critically and without apathy. This is a beautiful thing. We need people like you. When you have only your words to stand for you, at least in this forum, part of your success depends upon making sure that they are a strong foundation for the change you hope to affect.

    • Hate when people worry about the wrong things.. This is clearly not a dissertation but simply a blog post. GREAT ARTICLE.

  9. Im so sorry, you have a way with words mr.keef I guess u post to cuz your a rapper?? Some of your words was true when it comes to Chicago, the the parts about you are not jojo lost his life and you laughed about it I don’t have no sympathy nor respect for you and you were a gang banger trust me you were seen, now u want to get on here and kiss ass and act like your such a good boy cuz your career is on the line is BS to me this happening to jojo and u reacting the way that you did caught the attention of the whole nation…he was just making music the same as you was no reason for him to gotten killed ova it and u finding it to he a joke? THAT’S THAT SHIT I DON’T LIKE!! This is a bad look for you and also one bad a suck up… Sucker

  10. Coming from Washington, DC and going to North Carolina (A&T — AGGIE PRIDE!) for college .. I share some of the same exact sentiments as you as far as my city and our generation experiencing this music differently than the youngins coming up do.. Thanks, this article is appreciated!

  11. I AGREE SON HAD A CHANCE TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE INSTEAD HE SENT HIPHOP BACK 15 YEARSYOU KNOW BIGGUE ANDC TIME SINCLESS GET MONEY

  12. This is an AMAZING article….

  13. Interesting point of view, I do have a problem with this statement though……”I thought I was dreaming. This is who Chicago picked to show the world our talent?”

    Kanye, Common, Lupe etc are literally “one in a million” type of chicagoans and rappers in general, the reason Chicago “picked” Chief Keef is because he represents the majority of the inner city youth, raised in a broken home, pretty much raised himself unlike the kanye, com, lupe. No diss to anyone but chief keef personifies the current state of Chicago…and since he blew up his popularity has raised awareness to the problems in Chicago, An artist like Chief Keef needed to become popular, I just hope he realizes what power and influence he has at such a young age.

    -Chitown til I die

  14. I agree with u whole heartedly and i appreciate the insider view from some one who grew up there speaking on this issue.

  15. Wow I really enjoyed your article and I must say I do agree with you. I love my city even though I’m not there right now.

  16. I know the feeling as well, I rep Chicago to the fullest went to DePaul and when I transferred to Ball State in Muncie, IN I was that guy. I cocked my cap to the right and wore a ton of blue and black, but when I moved back in 2005 I was over that. Working hard and loving hip-hop, Kanye, Common, Jigga, Nas, Talib, Mos, that was my music of choice. Fast forward, I ended up moving to Minneapolis and the first six words I hear on the Chief Keef’s “Everyday” I knew that was the Sh*t I don’t like. Now saying I’m from the Chi, I get associated with this guy? I can’t do it… I’m trying to keep from “hating”, but when you’re automatically associated with this guy, it’s hard cause I’m always defending myself. To a point where I’m on the offensive almost talking ish about a teenager.

  17. Hey there from across the sea! This is just what I was searching for, and you wrote it well. Thankyou

  18. brother you killed it…spot on analysis of the feelings of those that come from the southside, grew up on hip hop!, went off to foreign lands (NH) , and are back again…well written too…chapeau

  19. Thank you for voicing the words that so many others are afraid to speak. Great article!

  20. How typical of black men. Make it out and make a way for themselves and never reach back and only LOOK back to criticize. If you ask me, you’re part of the problem in Chicago as well. As a college grad from the city YOU ARE RARE BUT ALSO VALUABLE*!

    Have you taken any opportunity to speak with the Chief Keefs of the city? Have you reached out to any young, at risk youth specifically black males? Probably not. I’m over adult men criticizing this kid* when you’re in an influential position to help. Go out and use your accomplishments for something other than criticism.

    Also where’s Common, RKelly and Derrick Rose in this situation? Why don’t black men give back once they make it? We are so divided and black men really hate each other. I can’t with you guys. You’re such the typical hatin ass Chicagoan. All talk no show.

    Before you come at me with the whole how do ‘I’ give back, I teach at risk youth to swim at Sherman Park in Englewood.

    • I feel you man. There does need to be more people to come back and help. Clearly you’re just mad at the people who dont, and you’re venting your frustration them on me because you assume (key word) that I’m like them or at least will eventually be like them. I understand that fully. But you jumped to conclusions about me without even just simply asking “This article is all talk. How do you plan on giving back?”.

      I live in Chicago and I’m still here. I actually live right outside of Englewood. I could’ve stayed in VA if I truly wanted to. But I’m here. And since I’m a hatin ass dude and whatever other names you called me, I don’t even feel the need to tell you what I have done, am doing, and what I’m planning to do. I’m good with you thinking I look down at the under-privileged kids or the impoverished areas of Chicago. Because I know if you knew me, you wouldnt’ve assumed or said those bad things about me. I hope you transform that hatred towards me into passion for you’re kids.

      As far as me asking you “Well what you do you do?!”, my response is “lol”. I wouldn’tve asked anyway. That would’ve been me and you having a contest to see who does more for the community, and that would totally defeat the purpose. As far as people like R.Kelly, or Common, or Derrick Rose, idk where they are. You should write to them and ask. Do I wish they were more visible in all this, and reached out more? Yeah I do, so I agree with you. If you checked the news, you would see that Derrick Rose actually just held an anti-violence basketball tournament though. So some are helping. And lastly, the whole me criticizing the city or me being a black men hating on other black men…………………………………………………………………….

      Thank God for people like you who help at risk youth. There needs to be way more people like you. Hopefully you don’t teach your kids to make responses like this to anybody, whether you’re frustration is justified, or not like in this case. Hopefully you teach them to channel their frustration and anger towards the world into positive energy and productiveness. Hopefully you teach them to openly receive any help they can get, but give them an internal fire for life where they feel they can succeed no matter what anyone does for them.

      I pray that God use you to help them get a better life for themselves, and that he gives you tunnel vision focus on them, because they are what really matter. I pray that God give you the humility to not look down on people who are doing less than you to help these kids. Because their choice to not help doesn’t affect you, and to go further, there are other people who have, are, and will do far more to help those kids than even you have, are, and will. But even in both of the cases, it never ever ever was meant to be a contest. I pray that God give you a spirit of humility in knowing that what you are doing for these kids is all that matters and you could care less if anyone else knows about it or appreciates it, because you’re kids do. I pray that God give you the strength that if you were the only person in the entire universe to be helping these kids, you’d be perfectly fine with that.

      God Bless you and the kids you help.

      Sincerely,
      Fake Chicagoan

      • Wow! I truly love the way you have chosen to deal with that response. I am a former Chicagoan, and I chose to come home once or twice a year because I HAVE to, not at all because I want to. But my family is still there. My heart bleeds for the city that I truly once loved, but that doesn’t mean I have done or will do anything to help the situation. So it’s people like you that I truly admire. Chicago is still a beautiful city (depending on where you look), I bring my son home and we visit down town, shed aqarium, navy pier, etc. but I wouldn’t dare try to raise him there. So I to have a love/hate feeling for my/your city. Thank you for whatever you do, thank you for a well written real perspective, and thank you for even taken a sec to give a damn!

    • I know I’m late an all, but wow how ignorant you seem to be about this article. Maybe the young mans articulation of his view was above your level, idk. But why sit back and judge people who do nothing instead of appreciating the ones that do? And I’m willing to bet that this is a blackest male that “does”. And is looking for no self gratification or a pat on the back, so he doesn’t even care to mention what he is doing. And him writing this article to put a real educated view on the situation is a lot in its self. Do because you want to not because you want people to know what you do. So next time do it quietly as common, r Kelly, and other native Chicago black men do.

  21. This is an excellent article! I am from the South Side of the Chi and felt the EXACT way when I graduated from Jackson State. I too was the girl, who repped Chicago in everything I did i.e, I even refused or refuse (currently reside in DC) to stop saying POP(soda for non-chicagoans)!!! When I would return home over xmas or spring breaks, I would see how much I changed and the environment remained the same. Prior to going away to college, I didnt see anything wrong with the way I grew up, lived or viewed the world. Now that I have the opportunity to return the City of Love, I felt hesitant because it’s “dangerous, different, and segregated beyond measure”. However, as I watch countless murders, articles regarding Chief Keef, etc via WGN TV, I think I should return and assist with making a change to the da tru Chicago, “South, West, East(Southest) sides.
    Rahm has no idea how to curb the violence in Chicago because he lived and lives in a “functional” part of the city. He needs a true warrior to assist with improving Chicago’s crime rate, but also a way to ensure “parents” are being actual parents(black community wakeup).
    ChiDiva

  22. Thanks for the post bruh. Please write/post more (especially commenting on . We need more perspectives like yours being voiced. My brother and your IB brother told m to red what you were doing because ya’ll have similar paths. Anyway, check out my blog and let me know what you think. And keep up to good writings and work.

  23. I dont care what yall say or anybody I love chief keef his music and everything he repp and stand for #300 (BANG BANG)

  24. Bravo!! Found this to speak volumes of truth. Especially proud of the fact it was written eloquently by a young black male from Chicago who went off to better his life by going to College. I too share a love hate relationship with Chicago but for different reasons.#educatedsinglebeautifulinneroutterblackfemale.
    I find myself lonely in such a big city filled with activities

  25. I found this article and respect what you got to say – but my take is if you can get out of the hood and feed your family no matter what ‘image’ it is I would do it. I hate to say that but its honest. Selling Crack vs. Music

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,135 other followers

